Archive for March, 2015




Navratra (Nine-Nights) are the nights of auspicious nature, and it is believed that if we pray to Maa Durga ,(who is the Manifestation of the Absolute Energy that pervades the Universe. As ‘Durga’ sitting on a Lion, she is a Manifestation of ‘Shakti’ or the Primordial Energy) in these 9 nights and perform penance with true feeling and devotion, our wishes will come true. These days are astrologically very powerful and favourable for Spiritual up gradation

Navratras are celebrations of Maa Durga. We celebrate Navratras with utmost devotion and purity. Navratras are observed twice a year. The first set of Navratras are celebrated in March & April and the second are observed in September & October.

All along these Navratras, people are generally on fast. They pray to the MAA Durga to Bless them and their families. Temples are teeming with celebrations and ‘Akhand-Jyot’ is also lighted to spread the message of light. prosperity and oneness or unity of GOD. At the time of navratras fair is organised at the temple of MAA CHINTPURNI.

Garba dance :-
The name garba comes from the Sanskrit term Garba Deep. Garba, when translated, most closely resembles the English preposition inside, and Deep is a small earthenware lamp. For this reason, many traditional garbas are performed around a central lit lamp. Traditionally, it is performed during a nine-day festival called Navratri. Traditionally, either the lamp (the Garba Deep), or an image of Amba is placed in the middle of the concentric rings as an object of veneration, thereby delineating the dance. People dance around the deity clapping rhythmically. At every step they gracefully bend sideways, the arms coming together in sweeping gestures, up and down, left and right, each movement ending in clap. Two spins forward, One sping back.2 steps forward, 1 step back and again 1 step forward, means when we progress (2 steps forward) we reteat back 1 step because of obstacles , but due to bleesings of MAA , we upgrade to same hieght again, by overcoming the obstacles. Jai mata di.

Durga puja :-

Durga Puja ‘Worship of Durga’, ‘Festival of Durga’. It refers to all the six days observed as Mahalaya, Shashthi , Maha Saptami, Maha Ashtami, Maha Nabami and Bijoya Dashami. Durga Puja is widely celebrated in West Bangal and Tripura. Not only it is the biggest Hindu festival celebrated throughout the State, but also the most significant socio-cultural event in Bengali society. Apart from West Bengal, Durga Puja is also celebrated in Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa and in some parts of other Indian states including Delhi, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Punjab, Kashmir, Karnataka and Kerela.The prominence of Durga Puja increased gradually during the British Raj in Bengal. After the Hindu reformists resemble Durga with India, she had become an icon for the Indian independence movement. After independence, Durga Puja became one of the largest celebrated festivals in the whole world.

Durga Puja includes the worships of Shiva, Lakshmi, Ganesha, Saraswati, Kartikeya and Mahishasura (rakshas, killed by MAA DURGA) also. Modern tradition have come to include the display of decorated pandals and artistically depicted idols of Durga, exchange of Bijoya Greetings and publication of Puja Annuals.


March 2015
« Jan   Jun »